Selecting Fonts that Look Good Together

In my next life I want to come back as a typographer.  And a rodeo barrel racer. But let’s focus on fonts and typography today.

As a kid I loved writing my friends’ names in huge block letters on envelopes.  I would spend hours coloring patterns into the letters I had drawn.  Today, tired of the built-in font themes that Microsoft offers, I could spend hours finding new and interesting font combinations to use in the PowerPoint presentations I create.

How to Mix, Combine, and Pair Fonts

Web designers don’t need to look far to learn how to mix, combine, and pair fonts. Here are a few:

Show Me Fonts that Look Good Together

But when you’re in a hurry sometimes you just need to see combinations that work.  Again, there are plenty of articles showing font combinations for print and web design:

Recently I discovered Typ.io.  It’s my favorite new-to-me resource.  Similar to other sites where designers can contribute samples of their work, Typ.io focuses on the typography used in the work.  I love being able to see which fonts a designer has used in their headings and body copy.  Often I can use these or similar font combinations in my PowerPoint presentations.

Download the Fonts (Preferably Free Fonts)

I don’t always have the fonts I need installed on my computer.  In some cases, I don’t have the budget to buy the font either.  Here are three sources I use to locate and download fonts:

Adding New Font Combinations to PowerPoint

Follow these instructions if you’re not sure how to install a new font in Windows.

In PowerPoint 2010, you’ll find the built-in font themes on the Design tab, in the Themes group, under the Fonts drop down.  The default built-in Office theme uses Calibri for both the headings and the body.  Read how to create your own font theme using the new font(s) you downloaded.

Can you see the fonts that I see?

Important!  Other computers may not have the new font you installed on your computer.  If you are not giving the presentation from your own computer, or if you need to share your presentation make sure you embed the new font.  Learn how to embed fonts in your presentation here.

Leave a Reply

