Counting Down to the 2011 IA Summit

On Saturday, April 2nd at 9:00 AM I may have my first out-of-body experience.

There are only 8 days left.  Only 8 days until I take the IA Summit stage for the very first time.  It will be the first time I have ever walked onto a conference stage.

I am nervous.  I am excited!  I am praying the Twitter backlash won’t be too harsh.

I wonder how many times I will find myself stumbling saying, “And so,” even though I have painstakingly practiced and recorded myself almost every single day for two and half weeks now.

I practice in the car driving home from work, standing in front of the full length mirror late at night, and with my trusted colleagues at work.  My theater roots have been called back into action.  I forgot how much I missed them.

In short, putting this presentation together has been the center of my universe for a while now.

I hope people show up to my session, but there are two really good talks going on at the same time as mine:

The worst part is that I would LOVE to be sitting in on both of them!

If I only have 5 people coming to my session I’ll be happy with that.

If you choose to come to my presentation, The Reluctant Design Strategist: The Story of a UX Team of 1.5 Failing Forward I think we’ll have fun. I hope you will leave feeling like you can do more with less, and that failure, as devastating and personal as I once thought it was, doesn’t have to be.

Leave a Reply

