I Never Thought About Typography That Way

Do you love surprises as much as I do? Not like when my husband calls me and says he has a surprise present for me and he brings home a jar opener device (true story), but like a real surprise–something you didn’t expect to happen AND you were really pleased with the result. That just happened to me…

I missed the VizThink Webinar on Design & Politics: A Conversation With Scott Thomas. But then I got an email announcing they posted it online.  I was surprised.

And now after watching it, I have to tell you there were so many delightful takeaways in it:

  • Oh my gosh!  I am NOT the only person who feels like Twitter, “Isn’t exactly my medium.”
  • Does Scott sorta look like a sophisticated bank robber with that wool cap on?  Or is it just me?
  • Who the heck thinks about the history of typography as it relates to political signage and whatnot? Scott Thomas (and his team).  Clearly this is why I am not a graphic designer and I continue to have the utmost respect for people who are.

  • I have to adopt “destroy the fold” and use it in a sentence.  I’ve been telling people there is no fold for a long time, but perhaps I should have been saying that we need to “destroy the fold” to really make my point.  Scott evolved the initial website into a work of art.
  • Jeez, Louise! I never realized the voter registration process varied by COUNTY.  My respect for making Simple Vote a reality went up by a million percent.  And just so @SimpleScott knows, this usability person completely understood the intention of asking one question at a time.  It works because it doesn’t overwhelm people with information, it’s conversational and personal like the style of the Obama campaign.  It’s simple, Scott.

So I guess what I’m trying to tell you is:  Watch it.  They even broke it up into really short clips with relevant titles so no excuses for passing this one by.

And to revisit the jar opener device for just a moment…Even though it wasn’t the kind of surprise I hoped for it has been really useful.

P.S. If I influenced you please click here and tell Fast Company to spread my influence farther. My goal is to hit the 90th percentile of “influence”.

Leave a Reply

