I Am Thankful for Video Chat

“Is that him?” the 70-years young father asked me as he peered carefully at the computer monitor.

“Yes!  Here’s the camera,” I said tapping the web cam, “Sit down right here.”

Suddenly the picture on the screen moved and a voice said, “Hey, Dad!”

Dad smiled.  He was seeing his son, a deployed solider, for the first time in 6 months.

His son’s hair was significantly longer than normal and Dad laughed as he shouted back at the computer, “Hey, I know a good barber.”

The shouting continued as father and son reunited on Thanksgiving Day.

“You look good.  I was really worried about you when I left, man, but you look good,” said the relieved son.  Before deploying his father was gravely ill.  So seriously that he wondered if he would get to see his father again.

Yesterday, they both got to see each other again.

When the video chat ended Dad said to me, “Wow!  The technology is just amazing.”

And indeed it is.  Especially if you’ve never seen it before.

I am thankful video chat made the reunion possible.

I am thankful for the opportunity to see the delight and awe on a 70 year old’s face.

I am thankful for the men and women who bravely serve this country.

2 thoughts on “I Am Thankful for Video Chat

Leave a Reply

