I Still Remember

A break from my usual discussion of creating memorable, engaging user experiences to reflect on a day that changed my life (and yours too) 8 years ago.

Eight.

Eight is my lucky number.

Was it really EIGHT years ago that I began categorizing the events in my life into before and after?

I feel like it was just yesterday that I was leaving my doctor’s office and noticed a television on.  I stared and saw a building.  I saw a hole d lots of broken windows.  I saw some smoke coming out of the windows.  The office assistant told me a small plane hit one of the twin towers in New York City.  I remember turning to her and saying, “That’s a terrorist attack.”  She looked at me as if I was crazy, sort of snorted and shook her head.

I got in the car and began the drive to the office.  Tuning in to the local all news channel I listened intently to what they were saying while trying to pay attention to the traffic.  The light ahead of me turned red.  I rolled to a stop and turned to look at the other drivers in their cars.   A man in the next car was happily tapping out the beat on his steering wheel and bobbing his head while he rocked out to his music .  Another driver was staring straight ahead waiting for the light to change.

I wanted to roll down my window and yell, “Aren’t you people listening to what is going on?!?!?”

I will remember that moment forever.

One thought on “I Still Remember

Leave a Reply

