Lookie Loo: EightShapes Unify

Are you responsible for taking the great ideas your customers have and distilling them into a picture or a series of pictures?

Wireframes, flows, and high level requirements are a big part of my day-to-day life.

For years now I’ve built my wireframes in Visio. Thanks to Dan Brown’s Visio teachings found on Boxes and Arrows and extending some existing wireframe stencil libraries I feel like I’m not having to reinvent the wheel with each deliverable.

And yet, I’m throwing it all away to embark on a new adventure that I think will yield better, more reusable results.

It is all Nathan Curtis’ fault.

I am giving up Microsoft Visio for Adobe InDesign.  And it may kill me.

Dare I admit it? I kinda like the Microsoft Office family because it’s what I’ve grown up with. (Note:  Microsoft Office 2007 has not been at the top of my list, but I am finally finding my most loved features again.  A separate discussion later.)

Unlike Microsoft, the Adobe product family has always been completely unintuitive to me (excluding the previously owned Macromedia products, which I dearly miss).  I just don’t seem to think the same way those Photoshop developers do.

Unfortunately, Unify only works with InDesign.  I found that out the hard way.  I got so excited about Unify that I downloaded it, unzipped the files and looked at the extensions and went, “What the…?”

Oh…

InDesign.

Darn.

I downloaded a free trial of InDesign just so I could see what Unify included.  I really liked what I saw.  I recreated some of the ideas in Visio, but I kept wondering how much further I could go if I just dared to take the Pepsi Challenge….

And so, a new adventure begins.

One thought on “Lookie Loo: EightShapes Unify

  1. Pingback: 5 Tips for Creating A Wireframe In PowerPoint « Fail Forward

Leave a Reply

